The Mkwawa University College of education (MUCE) is located in the Southern Highlands of Tanzania in Iringa Municipality, about 3 Kilometres from the main bus stand. MUCE was established as a constituent college of the University of Dar es Salaam (UDSM) on the 1st of September 2005 by upgrading the former Mkwawa High School, in response to the growing demand of teachers.

Mkwawa High School was first established as an ‘Ordinary’ level school in 1959 and was called St. Michael and St. George’s School. In 1964 it became a High School, officiated by the First President of the United Republic of Tanzania, the late Mwalimu Julius K. Nyerere. In 1977 it was converted into a teachers college offering certificate and diploma programmes in teacher education. In 1992 it was turned back to a High School until March 2005, when it was upgraded to a constituent college of the University of Dar es Salaam, by order under section 55 (1) of the University of Dar es Salaam Act No. 12 of 1970 and published on 22nd July 2005 on Government Notice No. 2003.

Candidates admitted into the College pursue degree programmes in Science and Arts. Currently, MUCE is offering four degree programmes which are:-

  • Bachelor of Education in Arts (B.Ed. Arts)
  • Bachelor of Education in Science (B.Ed. Science)
  • Bachelor of Arts with Education (B.A. Ed.)
  • Bachelor of Science with Education (B.Sc. Ed.)
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Education (P.G.D.E.)

Mkwawa University College of Education consist of three Faculties i.e., the Faculty of Education, the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences and the Faculty of Science.

Vision: The guiding vision of the College is to become a centre of exellence in producing innovative and inspired teachers and leaders by providing intergrated quality education.

Mission: To deliver quality teaching, research and public services in education geared at transforming society.

Theme (Motto): Advancing quality in education, promoting change.